E N C O R E

Over a year ago, I created this blog. A part of creating this blog included creating an ‘About Me’ page. Looking back on that page, it’s a mixture of funny and sadness.

I have come to the realization that my problem was not figuring out who I was, or why things from my childhood affected me in the way that they did. My problem was me. I chose to put on a façade of happiness, excitement, and other emotions, wearing the costume people wanted to see me in because I was afraid of myself. People would ask me, “Who is Sidney?” And I would give answers of adjectives trying to depict myself in the eyes of others. I would literally shape myself to become the person someone needed versus being a person someone needed, being a person someone could learn from and appreciate. I was easily used because I vacated myself to be exactly what people needed.

Over the past year, I have gone through many life altering experiences – things that really showed me who I was… who I was all along. As I sit here today and reflect, I believe that I have known myself this entire time… really my entire life. And truth be told, that has scared me. I know I have the potential to be far beyond great, but I doubt if I’m ready to take on such a role. I think that is why I relate so much to my favorite quote because it is me.

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

– Marianne Williamson

I know I am not inadequate. I fear being great – being powerful beyond measure – being me. But why? I am brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous. I am meant to serve the world – not by succumbing to other people’s thoughts and opinions, but by being myself. That NO LONGER means becoming what others need, shrinking to make others feel comfortable – it means shining in my truth, manifesting what is for me.

I can honestly say, if you knew me based on who I was a year ago, you don’t know me at all.

My growth game is strong.

Allow me to reintroduce myself…

As Told by Sid is back, I’m better, and I’m ready to share.

2 thoughts on “E N C O R E

Leave a comment